First of May

When I was small, and Christmas trees were tall,
we used to love while others used to play.
Don’t ask me why, but time has passed us by,
some one else moved in from far away.

(Chorus)
Now we are tall, and Christmas trees are small,
and you don’t ask the time of day.
But you and I, our love will never die,
but guess we’ll cry come first of May.

The apple tree that grew for you and me,
I watched the apples falling one by one.
And I recall the moment of them all,
the day I kissed your cheek and you were gone.

(chorus…)

When I was small, and Christmas trees were tall,
do do do do do do do do do…
Don’t ask me why, but time has passed us by,
some one else moved in from far away.

4 Responses

  1. Sonnie dit was nou oorspronklik, dit het my jare terug gevat. 😉

  2. Dis een van daardie liedjies waarvan die woorde ook altyd in my kop vashaak.

  3. Nou gaan ek weer die hele nag ‘But you and I, our love will never die, but guess we’ll cry come first of May’. Daai melodie kan mos nie ophou draai as hy eers vastrapplek gekry het nie… Thanks Sonkind

  4. Thanks, ek het vanmôre gedink ek moet die song luister. Toe ek jou kommentaar by my sien val ek by jou blad is oop in my bloglines maar nog nie gelees nie, ek was nou al besig om tabs toe te maak in my browser. Nou luister ek eers. Darem maar mooi…

Lewer kommentaar

